Programme overview
Advanced vascular surgery fellowship at a tertiary centre, combining clinical care, research and teaching across complex arterial, venous and vascular access conditions.
Intake status: Applications open until 31 October 2026. The advert’s start date of 1 October 2026 has passed; confirm whether the post remains available before applying.
A published programme or position count does not establish a current vacancy.
- Training and clinical exposure
- Tertiary care for arterial occlusive disease, aneurysms, carotid disease, diabetic foot, lymphedema, phlebology, vascular malformations and vascular access; active involvement in clinic, procedures and on-call work.Source linkedField source ↗
International applicant assessment
Acceptance, medical registration and immigration are separate decisions. Clinical training does not automatically confer operative privileges.
- Can international surgeons apply?
- The advert requires a medical degree and general surgery specialist qualification recognised in Belgium or the EU. It does not state a citizenship restriction; pathways for non-EU qualifications and visa sponsorship are not published.Source linkedField source ↗
- Clinical role and hands-on restrictions
- Clinical activity includes outpatient care, procedures and on-call work. The advert does not specify independent operative privileges or individual supervision arrangements.Source linkedField source ↗
- Medical registration
- The advert requires medical and general surgery specialist qualifications recognised in Belgium or the EU; it does not detail the registration procedure or permitted clinical acts.Source linkedField source ↗
- Language
- Dutch required; no CEFR level specified.Source linkedField source ↗
- Visa or work authorisation
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Application timeline and contact
- Application deadline
- 31 October 2026Source linkedField source ↗
- Commencement / intake
- From 1 October 2026 (advertised start; already passed as of the 21 October 2026 review)Source linkedField source ↗
- Application cycle
- Specific full-time opportunity from 1 October 2026 for 6 months to 1 year; applications requested as soon as possible and by 31 October 2026. No later cycle is published.Source linkedField source ↗
- Published positions — not remaining vacancies
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- How to apply
- Send an application letter and CV to Prof. Dr. Sarah Thomis at sarah.thomis@uzleuven.be by 31 October 2026. Confirm current availability because the advertised start date has passed.Source linkedField source ↗
- Official programme contact
- Prof. Dr. Sarah Thomis, Head of Vascular Surgery: sarah.thomis@uzleuven.be; UZ Leuven, Herestraat 49, 3000 Leuven, Belgium; +32 16 34 49 12 (hospital recruitment contact).Source linkedField source ↗
Download published deadline (.ics) · Confirm the date and timezone with the host; historical deadlines may remain in the record.
Eligibility and application documents
- Published entry requirements
- Medical degree and general surgery specialist qualification recognised in Belgium or the European Union; Dutch proficiency required (level not specified).Source linkedField source ↗
- Application documents
- Application letter
- CV
Benefits, funding and costs
- Salary or funding
- Full-time appointment at senior-assistant level; salary amount, benefits and funding terms are not specified in the advert.Source linkedField source ↗
- Fees and upfront expenses
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Benefits and support
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Accommodation or relocation
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Unknown funding does not mean unpaid; unknown fees do not mean free. Confirm the written appointment terms before committing.
Host institution
University Hospitals Leuven
University Hospitals Leuven hosts 5 focused SurgFellow programme records in Belgium. Source-linked profiles distinguish clinical training from observation and do not imply current recruitment or operative permission.
View institution profile →Faculty and contacts
Names and roles reflect captured sources; rosters may change. Initials are placeholders, not verified photographs.
Evidence and useful links
Source accessed: 21 October 2026. Source access is not the institution’s publication date, renewed accreditation, or confirmation of open recruitment.
Official UZ Leuven recruitment page captured on 21 October 2026. This is post-specialist vascular training: the advert requires a general surgery specialist qualification, rather than basic specialty training. It lists an opportunity from 1 October 2026 for 6–12 months and a 31 October 2026 application deadline; the start date has already passed, so availability should be confirmed. Salary amount, benefits, visa sponsorship, case numbers, independent operative scope and later intake are not published.
- Official programme or registry source ↗
- Evidence: title, institution, city, country, specialty, pathway, duration, eligibility, international, status, participation, clinical exposure, application deadline, start date, application documents, application method, application cycle, contact, faculty, funding, registration, language, source, application url ↗
Profile completeness and evidence coverage
16/21 application fields captured; 16/21 have a mapped field source. This measures captured information, not programme quality or independent verification.
Show every field and evidence state
- DurationSource linked
- Entry requirementsSource linked
- Clinical role and restrictionsSource linked
- International eligibilitySource linked
- Medical registrationSource linked
- LanguageSource linked
- Visa or work authorisationNot yet confirmed
- Published positionsNot yet confirmed
- CommencementSource linked
- Application deadlineSource linked
- Application cycleSource linked
- Application processSource linked
- Application documentsSource linked
- Application routeSource linked
- Official contactSource linked
- Salary or fundingSource linked
- FeesNot yet confirmed
- Benefits and supportNot yet confirmed
- Accommodation or relocationNot yet confirmed
- Training exposureSource linked
- Named faculty or contactsSource linked
“Captured; field evidence not mapped” means the record contains information but a specific supporting source has not yet been assigned to that field. “Not stated in captured source” reflects the stored review note; it is not a claim that every institutional source was searched.
Suggest a correction →