Programme overview
Clinical cardiac surgery fellowship for qualified surgeons seeking to advance academic knowledge and practical skills. The programme page does not publish an intake calendar or operative case mix.
Intake status: Programme described; current vacancy, intake dates and available places are not published.
A published programme or position count does not establish a current vacancy.
- Training and clinical exposure
- Advanced practical and academic training in cardiac surgery; specific procedures, case numbers and rotation structure are not published.Source linkedField source ↗
International applicant assessment
Acceptance, medical registration and immigration are separate decisions. Clinical training does not automatically confer operative privileges.
- Can international surgeons apply?
- For foreign applicants, UZ Leuven lists foreign-diploma recognition and registration with the Belgian Order of Physicians among the requirements. Admission rules for non-EU-trained surgeons and visa sponsorship are not published.Source linkedField source ↗
- Clinical role and hands-on restrictions
- Clinical fellowship described as developing practical skills; exact operative participation, supervision and permitted procedures are not detailed on the page.Source linkedField source ↗
- Medical registration
- The programme page lists Belgian recognition of a foreign diploma and registration with the Belgian Order of Physicians for foreign candidates. This does not itself confirm eligibility for clinical practice or admission.Source linkedField source ↗
- Language
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Visa or work authorisation
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Application timeline and contact
- Application deadline
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Commencement / intake
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Application cycle
- Apply with a motivation letter one year before the desired start date; no fixed start dates, deadline or current cycle are published.Source linkedField source ↗
- Published positions — not remaining vacancies
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- How to apply
- Contact the cardiac surgery department at cardiale.heelkunde@uzleuven.be or +32 16 34 42 60 to confirm the application route and current intake. The page asks for a motivation letter one year before the desired start.Source linkedField source ↗
- Official programme contact
- Cardiac Surgery Department: cardiale.heelkunde@uzleuven.be; +32 16 34 42 60 or +32 16 34 46 16; Herestraat 49, 3000 Leuven, Belgium.Source linkedField source ↗
Eligibility and application documents
- Published entry requirements
- Medical specialist in surgery; applicants should apply with a motivation letter one year before the desired start date. Required documents include CV, identity card, basic medical degree and specialist recognition.Source linkedField source ↗
- Application documents
- Motivation letter, submitted one year before the intended start
- CV
- Copy of identity card
- Copy of basic medical degree
- Copy of specialist recognition
- Foreign applicants: foreign-diploma recognition and Belgian Order of Physicians registration documents
Benefits, funding and costs
- Salary or funding
- Salary, stipend and other funding are not stated.Captured; field evidence not mapped
- Fees and upfront expenses
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Benefits and support
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Accommodation or relocation
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Unknown funding does not mean unpaid; unknown fees do not mean free. Confirm the written appointment terms before committing.
Host institution
University Hospitals Leuven
University Hospitals Leuven hosts 5 focused SurgFellow programme records in Belgium. Source-linked profiles distinguish clinical training from observation and do not imply current recruitment or operative permission.
View institution profile →Faculty and contacts
No publicly named programme director or coordinator has been captured for this profile yet.
Names and roles reflect captured sources; rosters may change. Initials are placeholders, not verified photographs.
Evidence and useful links
Source accessed: 21 October 2026. Source access is not the institution’s publication date, renewed accreditation, or confirmation of open recruitment.
Official UZ Leuven programme page captured on 21 October 2026; page last updated 3 February 2026. This is an advanced clinical fellowship for physicians who have completed specialist training in surgery, not a basic residency or course. Foreign applicants are directed to diploma recognition and Belgian medical-order registration. Intake dates, clinical permissions, salary, fees, visa sponsorship and available positions are not stated.
- Official programme or registry source ↗
- Evidence: title, institution, city, country, specialty, pathway, duration, eligibility, international, status, participation, clinical exposure, application documents, application method, application cycle, contact, registration, source, application url ↗
Profile completeness and evidence coverage
12/21 application fields captured; 11/21 have a mapped field source. This measures captured information, not programme quality or independent verification.
Show every field and evidence state
- DurationSource linked
- Entry requirementsSource linked
- Clinical role and restrictionsSource linked
- International eligibilitySource linked
- Medical registrationSource linked
- LanguageNot yet confirmed
- Visa or work authorisationNot yet confirmed
- Published positionsNot yet confirmed
- CommencementNot yet confirmed
- Application deadlineNot yet confirmed
- Application cycleSource linked
- Application processSource linked
- Application documentsSource linked
- Application routeSource linked
- Official contactSource linked
- Salary or fundingCaptured; field evidence not mapped
- FeesNot yet confirmed
- Benefits and supportNot yet confirmed
- Accommodation or relocationNot yet confirmed
- Training exposureSource linked
- Named faculty or contactsNot yet confirmed
“Captured; field evidence not mapped” means the record contains information but a specific supporting source has not yet been assigned to that field. “Not stated in captured source” reflects the stored review note; it is not a claim that every institutional source was searched.
Suggest a correction →