Programme overview
Observational cardiac surgery placement for qualified surgeons seeking to observe the department’s practice. It is separate from the clinical fellowship and does not promise hands-on participation.
Intake status: Programme described; current intake dates and available places are not published.
A published programme or position count does not establish a current vacancy.
- Training and clinical exposure
- Observation of cardiac surgery practice; the programme page does not specify cases, schedule or access to patient care.Source linkedField source ↗
International applicant assessment
Acceptance, medical registration and immigration are separate decisions. Clinical training does not automatically confer operative privileges.
- Can international surgeons apply?
- The programme page requires applicants to be qualified medical specialists in surgery and links to the hospital international office. It does not publish citizenship eligibility or visa sponsorship terms.Source linkedField source ↗
- Clinical role and hands-on restrictions
- Observational only; this page describes a kijkstage, not clinical or hands-on practice.Source linkedField source ↗
- Medical registration
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Language
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Visa or work authorisation
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Application timeline and contact
- Application deadline
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Commencement / intake
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Application cycle
- Application should be submitted six months before the desired start date; no fixed start dates, deadline or active intake are published.Source linkedField source ↗
- Published positions — not remaining vacancies
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- How to apply
- Contact the cardiac surgery department at cardiale.heelkunde@uzleuven.be or +32 16 34 42 60 to obtain or submit the observership application form and confirm the route. Apply six months before the intended start.Source linkedField source ↗
- Official programme contact
- Cardiac Surgery Department: cardiale.heelkunde@uzleuven.be; +32 16 34 42 60 or +32 16 34 46 16; Herestraat 49, 3000 Leuven, Belgium.Source linkedField source ↗
Eligibility and application documents
- Published entry requirements
- Already graduated as a medical specialist in surgery. Submit an application six months before the intended start date.Source linkedField source ↗
- Application documents
- Motivation letter, submitted six months before the intended start
- CV
- Copy of identity card
- Completed observership application form
Benefits, funding and costs
- Salary or funding
- Not stated.Not stated in captured source
- Fees and upfront expenses
- Not stated.Not stated in captured source
- Benefits and support
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
- Accommodation or relocation
- Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Unknown funding does not mean unpaid; unknown fees do not mean free. Confirm the written appointment terms before committing.
Host institution
University Hospitals Leuven
University Hospitals Leuven hosts 5 focused SurgFellow programme records in Belgium. Source-linked profiles distinguish clinical training from observation and do not imply current recruitment or operative permission.
View institution profile →Faculty and contacts
No publicly named programme director or coordinator has been captured for this profile yet.
Names and roles reflect captured sources; rosters may change. Initials are placeholders, not verified photographs.
Evidence and useful links
Source accessed: 21 October 2026. Source access is not the institution’s publication date, renewed accreditation, or confirmation of open recruitment.
Official UZ Leuven observership page captured on 21 October 2026; page last updated 3 February 2026. This is a distinct observational route for qualified surgeons, with a maximum duration of six months and a six-month advance application instruction. Do not infer clinical participation or carry over clinical-fellowship terms. Funding, fees, accommodation, visa, language and active placements are not stated.
- Official programme or registry source ↗
- Evidence: title, institution, city, country, specialty, pathway, duration, eligibility, international, status, participation, clinical exposure, application documents, application method, application cycle, contact, source, application url ↗
Profile completeness and evidence coverage
10/21 application fields captured; 10/21 have a mapped field source. This measures captured information, not programme quality or independent verification.
Show every field and evidence state
- DurationSource linked
- Entry requirementsSource linked
- Clinical role and restrictionsSource linked
- International eligibilitySource linked
- Medical registrationNot yet confirmed
- LanguageNot yet confirmed
- Visa or work authorisationNot yet confirmed
- Published positionsNot yet confirmed
- CommencementNot yet confirmed
- Application deadlineNot yet confirmed
- Application cycleSource linked
- Application processSource linked
- Application documentsSource linked
- Application routeSource linked
- Official contactSource linked
- Salary or fundingNot stated in captured source
- FeesNot stated in captured source
- Benefits and supportNot yet confirmed
- Accommodation or relocationNot yet confirmed
- Training exposureSource linked
- Named faculty or contactsNot yet confirmed
“Captured; field evidence not mapped” means the record contains information but a specific supporting source has not yet been assigned to that field. “Not stated in captured source” reflects the stored review note; it is not a claim that every institutional source was searched.
Suggest a correction →