SurgFellow← Additional programmes

Surgical Oncology · Clinical

ESSO European School of Soft Tissue Sarcoma Surgery (ESSTSS) Training Programme

European Society of Surgical Oncology (ESSO) with CTOS

Brussels, Belgium

Decision summary

Key facts before you apply

Duration
2 years; clinical training of 2-6 months in at least 2 of 5 referral centresCaptured from the official source listed below
Funding
ESSO educational grant: one grant of EUR 2,000 for ESSO members (50% at start of clinical training, 50% at end); deadline 31 October 2026Captured from the official source listed below
Application deadline
31 October 2026 (educational grants only; school application deadline not stated)Captured from the official source listed below
International eligibility
Eligibility unclear — confirm with the programmeCaptured from the official source listed below
Clinical role and restrictions
Direct participation in sarcoma surgical procedures (minimum numbers per centre stated on page)Captured from the official source listed below

Programme overview

Two-year ESSO/CTOS school. Clinical training in at least two of five referral centres (University Hospitals Birmingham, Institut Curie, Royal Marsden, Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori Milan, Antoni van Leeuwenhoek NKI Amsterdam), each stay 2-6 months, with direct participation in at least 4 retroperitoneal sarcoma, 10 limb/truncal STS and 2 GIST procedures per centre, tumour boards and postoperative follow-up; mandatory congresses (CTOS, RESURGE, ESMO Sarcoma, ESSO) and two research projects.

Source intake statement at last review: Official ESSO school page; ESSO educational grants call open until 31 October 2026

A published programme or position count does not establish a current vacancy.

Training and clinical exposure
Retroperitoneal, limb and truncal soft tissue sarcoma surgery; GIST surgery; sarcoma tumour boardsCaptured from the official source listed below

International applicant assessment

Acceptance, medical registration and immigration are separate decisions. Clinical training does not automatically confer operative privileges.

Can international surgeons apply?
Eligibility unclear — confirm with the programmeCaptured from the official source listed below
Clinical role and hands-on restrictions
Direct participation in sarcoma surgical procedures (minimum numbers per centre stated on page)Captured from the official source listed below
Medical registration
Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Language
Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Visa or work authorisation
Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
International applicant checklist →

Application timeline and contact

Application deadline
31 October 2026 (educational grants only; school application deadline not stated)Captured from the official source listed below
Commencement / intake
Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Application cycle
Rolling school application; grant call deadline 31 October 2026Captured from the official source listed below
Published positions — not remaining vacancies
Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
How to apply
Send application documents as one PDF to ESSO; application form downloadable from pageCaptured from the official source listed below
Official programme contact
ESSO education office: +32 2 880 62 63, BrusselsCaptured from the official source listed below
Review official source for application instructions ↗

Eligibility and application documents

Published entry requirements
Active surgical oncologist or surgical oncology fellow with interest in soft tissue sarcoma; general surgery residency and basic surgical oncology training completed or continued dedication to surgical oncology; medical licence from an EU country; involved or planning to be involved in a sarcoma programme; proficient English and/or language of visited centresCaptured from the official source listed below
Application documents
Single PDF: application form, motivation letter, letter of recommendation from mentor or Head of Department, short CV (max 2 pages) with recent publications, pictureCaptured from the official source listed below

Benefits, funding and costs

Salary or funding
ESSO educational grant: one grant of EUR 2,000 for ESSO members (50% at start of clinical training, 50% at end); deadline 31 October 2026Captured from the official source listed below
Fees and upfront expenses
Administration fee EUR 1,000 (ESSO members) or EUR 1,200 (non-members), payable before starting; ESSO Congress registration paid separately with ESSTSS discountCaptured from the official source listed below
Benefits and support
Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed
Accommodation or relocation
Not yet confirmed from an official sourceNot yet confirmed

Unknown funding does not mean unpaid; unknown fees do not mean free. Confirm the written appointment terms before committing.

Host institution

European Society of Surgical Oncology (ESSO) with CTOS

European Society of Surgical Oncology (ESSO) with CTOS in Brussels, Belgium hosts this official-source SurgFellow record in Surgical Oncology. Listings do not imply endorsement or an open intake.